Refined And Realistic / 17. July 2014

SDBI Award Winners Among The Highlights of Berlin Fashion Week­

SDBI winners receive their awards at the very beginning of their career. They are often still students or just completed their studies. The European Fashion Award FASH is their first award. An honor that results in benefits more quickly than ever before.  More

FASH 2014 / 13. January 2014

Presentation of The European Fashion Award FASH 2014 by SDBI for the First Time during Berlin Fashion Week

Kicking off the Berlin Fashion Week, today nine students and graduates were honored with the European Fashion Award FASH 2014. The award is managed by the non-profit SDBI – Stiftung der Deutschen Bekleidungsindustrie (German Fashion Industry Foundation) . 250 guests from the retail sector, agencies, higher education, government as well as managers and designers of leading companies from Germany, Denmark, Great Britain, Estonia, France, Japan, Lithuania, Sweden and Switzerland took part in the ceremony. More

FASH 2014 / 13. January 2014

Statements

“I have been observing the work of SDBi since its beginnings and in particular since my involvement with the jury in 2011. The evident genuine interest in new international creative talent was always the core value of the SDBI. This makes it inspirational for creatives, jury members and associates alike. Further support for future projects is vital and beneficial for both the industry and the young talent in order to further connect on a continuous basis and prepare for the tough challenges ahead.”
Torsten Hochstetter, Global Creative Director, Puma

“Visions, creativity and passion are the components with which SDBI sets sustainable signals for the future of the otherwise fast-moving fashion world.”
Laudation “Germany – Land of Ideas”

“The European Fashion Award FASH is neither a local project nor a faceless global story. SDBI does not only focus on beauty but also looks at the concept behind the fashion. We share this requirement for quality, combined with an international appeal.”
Daniel and Markus Freitag, Founders and Creative Directors FREITAG.

“We are grateful that SDBI plays a pioneering role for design and industry with its European Fashion Award FASH as well as with the help of its communication and industry network.”
Michael Glos, MdB, Federal Minister of Economy and Technology on the 30th anniversary of SDBI

“Attitude is the beginning of all sustainability. SDBI consistently endorses the new generation for our industry on a sophisticated level and with realistic reference to reality. SDBI deserves even more support – because lastly, people work for us and will work for us who have emerged from the FASH competition. The non-financial support provided by the Federal Government makes us hope that fashion in Berlin will eventually become a national topic.”
Albert Kriemler, Akris Creative Director

“An award like the European Fashion Award FASH motivates and generates attention, whether in a job application or in the media. Such professional competitions set important standards, are a seismographic indicator for trends and ideas and provide the industry with important inspiration. And last, but not least, they are an important tool for finding new employees.”
Cornelia Pieper, MdB, Minister of State, Foreign Office

“There are enormous changes in the global fashion business. Germany basically has – particularly thanks to its in-depth involvement in education – the power to be an international player. However, this potential has to be further developed and made more visible.”
Joachim Schirrmacher, Director and Advisory Board Chairman, SDBI

“Contrary to other industries, the fashion industry doesn’t treat its new generation very gently. This is why awards like the European Fashion Award FASH are so important to support and recognize their talent,” emphasizes jury member Robb Young speaking from long-time experience. He has managed, among others, the Swiss Textiles Award and helped designers like Raf Simons, Haider Ackermann, Christian Wijnants or Alexander Wang make their mark on an international level.

Platform For Young Designers
The European Fashion Award FASH is considered one of the most important international endorsement awards for fashion students, and has been active as a platform for the new generation of designers since 2005. It is an annual competition by the not-for-profit Stiftung der Deutschen Bekleidungsindustrie (German Fashion Industry Foundation), in short SDBI. Thanks to the European Fashion Award FASH, its communication, publications and extensive industry network SDBI plays a groundbreaking role for students, design and industry. Klaus Steilmann, at the time Europe’s largest manufacturer of women’s fashion, founded SDBI in 1978.

Raffiniert und Realistisch / 17. Juli 2014

Preisträger der SDBI zählten zu den Highlights der Berlin Fashion Week

Die Preisträger der SDBI werden ganz am Anfang ihrer Karriere ausgezeichnet. Oft studieren sie noch oder haben gerade eben ihr Studium beendet. Der European Fashion Award FASH ist ihr erster Preis. Eine Ehre, die in immer kürzerer Zeit Früchte trägt. More

FASH 2014 / 13. Januar 2014

Verleihung des European Fashion Award FASH 2014 erstmalig während der Berliner Fashion Week von der Stiftung der Deutschen Bekleidungsindustrie (SDBI)

Zum Auftakt der Berliner Fashion Week wurden heute neun Studierende und Absolventen mit dem European Fashion Award FASH 2014 ausgezeichnet. Verliehen wurde der Preis von der gemeinnützigen Stiftung der Deutschen Bekleidungsindustrie (SDBI) in Anwesenheit von 250 Gästen aus Handel, Agenturen, Hochschulen, Politik sowie Verantwortlichen und Designern führender Unternehmen aus Deutschland, Dänemark, England, Estland, Frankreich, Japan, Litauen, Schweden und der Schweiz. More

FASH 2014 / 13. Januar 2014

Statements

„Ich beobachte die Arbeit der SDBI seit 2005 und insbesondere seit meinem Engagement in der Jury FASH 2011. Im Mittelpunkt steht immer das ehrliche Interesse an den neuen kreativen Talenten aus aller Welt. Dies macht ihren European Fashion Award FASH so inspirierend und relevant – für Studierende, Kreative und Industrie gleichermaßen. Die Unterstützung der SDBI ist von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Zukunft unserer Industrie. Ebenso wie der regelmäßige Austausch von Talenten und Experten im SBDI-Netzwerk.“
Torsten Hochstetter, Global Creative Director, Puma

„Haltung ist der Anfang aller Nachhaltigkeit. Die SDBI fördert den Nachwuchs in unserer Branche konsequent, anspruchsvoll und mit realem Praxisbezug. Die SDBI verdient noch viel mehr Unterstützung – nicht zuletzt, weil bei uns Menschen arbeiten und arbeiten werden, die aus dem European Fashion Award FASH hervorgehen. Der ideelle Support der Bundesregierung lässt uns hoffen, dass Mode in Berlin zum nationalen Thema werden könnte.“
Albert Kriemler, Akris Creative Director

„Der European Fashion Award FASH ist weder ein lokales Projekt noch eine gesichtslose globale Geschichte. Der SDBI geht es nicht nur um Schönheit, sondern sie sieht auch das Konzept hinter der Mode. Diesen Qualitätsanspruch, verbunden mit einer internationalen Ausstrahlung, teilen wir.“
Daniel und Markus Freitag, Gründer und Creative Directors FREITAG.

„Visionen, Kreativität und Leidenschaft, das sind die Komponenten, mit denen SDBI nachhaltige Signale für die Zukunft in der sonst so schnelllebigen Modewelt setzt.“
Laudatio „Deutschland – Land der Ideen“

„Die SDBI übernimmt dankenswerter Weise durch ihren European Fashion Award FASH sowie durch ihre Kommunikation und ihr Branchen-Netzwerk eine wegweisende Rolle für Design und Industrie.“
Michael Glos, MdB, Bundesminister für Wirtschaft und Technologie zum 30-jährigen Jubiläum der SDBI

„Wir unterstützen den European Fashion Award FASH gerne mit innovativen Materialien unserer Mitglieder, weil uns die Professionalität des Auftrittes sowie die gestalterische und handwerkliche Exzellenz der bisherigen Preisträger beeindruckt und überzeugt.“
Peter Flückiger, Direktor TVS Textilverband Schweiz

„Ein Preis wie der European Fashion Award FASH motiviert und schafft Aufmerksamkeit. Solch seriöse Wettbewerbe setzen wichtige Standards, sind ein Seismograph für Trends und Ideen und geben so der Branche wichtige Impulse. Nicht zuletzt sind sie ein wichtiges Instrument der Rekrutierung neuer Mitarbeiter.“
Cornelia Pieper, MdB, Staatsministerin im Auswärtigen Amt

„Die Veränderungen im globalen Geschäft mit der Mode sind enorm. Deutschland hat – insbesondere durch seine großen Anstrengungen in der Ausbildung – die Fähigkeit international mitzuspielen. Allerdings muss dieses Potential weiter gefördert und sichtbar gemacht werden.
Joachim Schirrmacher, Direktor und Vorsitzender des Beirats der SDBI

„Anders als andere Industrien, geht die Modebranche nicht besonders behutsam mit ihrem Nachwuchs um. Daher sind Preise wie der European Fashion Award FASH wichtig, um ihr Talent zu unterstützen und anzuerkennen“, betont Jurymitglied Robb Young aus seiner jahrelangen Erfahrung. Er organisierte u.a. den Swiss Textiles Award und verhalf damit Designern wie Raf Simons, Haider Ackermann, Christian Wijnants oder Alexander Wang zum internationalen Durchbruch.

Die Plattform für Nachwuchsdesigner
Der European Fashion Award FASH zählt zu den international bedeutendsten Förderpreisen für Modestudenten und ist seit 2005 eine Plattform für Nachwuchsdesigner. Er wird ausgelobt von der gemeinnützigen Stiftung der Deutschen Bekleidungsindustrie, kurz SDBI. Durch ihren European Fashion Award FASH, ihre Kommunikation, Publikationen und ihr umfangreiches Branchen-Netzwerk übernimmt die SDBI eine wegweisende Rolle für Studierende, Design und Industrie. Die SDBI wurde 1978 von Klaus Steilmann gegründet, damals Europas größter Hersteller von Damenmode.

FASH 2014 / 8. Januar 2014

Auftakt der Berliner Modewoche: European Fashion Award FASH 2014

Die Zukunft fängt an: Studierende und Absolventen zeigen am Montag, den 13. Januar, auf der ersten Fashionshow der Berliner Modewoche ausgezeichnete Mode. Neun junge Designerinnen und Designer werden für ihre Arbeit von der internationalen Jury der Stiftung der Deutschen Bekleidungsindustrie, kurz SDBI, mit dem European Fashion Award FASH 2014 geehrt. Der weltweit ausgeschriebene Wettbewerb richtet sich an besonders begabte Designstudierende aller Gestaltungsdisziplinen ab dem vierten Semester. In einer zweiten Kategorie konnten Abschlussarbeiten aus dem Jahr 2013 eingereicht werden. Über hundert Studierende aus 27 Ländern haben teilgenommen. More